Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize

Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize (2013): Recipients & Finalists

Dr. Menten's outstanding career as a biomedical scientist led to many achievements including important co-discoveries relating to blood sugar, haemoglobin and kidney functions. Named in honour of this outstanding scientist, the Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize was established to recognize and support the research excellence of Canadian New Investigators working within the CIHR Institute of Genetics (IG) mandate. CIHR-IG would like to congratulate the 2013 Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize recipients and finalists:

2013 Prize Recipients:

  • Biomedical Research: Dr. Karim Mekhail, University of Toronto
  • Clinical Research: Dr. Andrew Lim, Sunnybrook Research Institute

2013 Finalists:

  • Biomedical Research: Dr. Mohan Babu (University of Regina) & Dr. Steve Bilodeau, (Université Laval)
  • Clinical Research: Dr. Ryan Morin (Simon Fraser University) & Dr. Clara van Karnebeek (University of British Columbia)

Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize (2014): Funding Opportunity

All Nominated Principal Investigators who meet the following criteria will be considered for the CIHR-IG Maud Menten New Principal Investigator Prize (2014):

  • Successful in either the September 2013 or March 2014 CIHR Operating Grants competition;
  • Identified CIHR-IG as their primary or secondary Institute affiliation in the "Suggested CIHR Institute" section of their operating grant application; and
  • Held a full-time appointment as an independent investigator, while actively engaged in CIHR research, including research performed in non-academic setting (e.g., industry, government) for a period of less than 60 months before the competition deadline associated with their successful CIHR operating grant application.

The New Principal Investigator with the highest ranked CIHR Operating Grant application - from the combined results of the September 2013 and March 2014 CIHR Operating Grant competitions - in each research area will be the recipient of one (1) of the three (3) $30,000 research grant prizes. For each research area, two (2) $1,000 finalist research grant prizes are also available and will be selected in rank order.

For questions about this initiative and research objectives contact:

Jennifer Ahlgren
Institute Project Officer
CIHR Institute of Genetics
Phone: 613-957-6126